Your County Government Community
Kids & Families
Environment Public Safety Jobs

County News

Latest News
County Recognition
County Television Network
Board Of Supervisors Meeting Video
Public Information Officers
County Officials Contact List

Sunshine Summit Fire Station Opens

Printer Friendly
Font Size Extra Large Font Size Large Font Size Default
fire department

March 19, 2011

San Diego County Board of Supervisors Chairman Bill Horn and several fire officials officially opened the new and improved Sunshine Summit Fire Station near Warner Springs Saturday, marking the latest achievement for the San Diego County Fire Authority and its volunteer firefighters.

“The upgrades to this station are just one example of what the County is doing to provide for our volunteer firefighters,” Horn said. “We’re also improving stations in De Luz and Deer Springs, and have completed improvements at Campo, Boulevard and Ocotillo Wells.”

The ribbon-cutting for the $500,000, 2,200 square-foot fire station --- which will improve firefighters ability to provide immediate 24-hour, seven-day-a-week protection with new sleeping quarters, a restroom and 1,000-gallon backup fuel supply --- marks the latest commitment by County supervisors to improve regional fire protection and emergency medical service. In June 2010, in addition to approving the Fire Authority’s $15.5 million annual budget, County supervisors set aside $5 million for the fire station improvements.

Over the last six years, the County has not only formed the San Diego County Fire Authority to unify the administrative support, communications and training of volunteer fire agencies, but also dramatically increased the numbers of volunteer firefighters, expanded service hours, and bought 37 fire engines. The expanded service and additional equipment improves service for backcountry areas where wildfires often start and increases the ability to provide mutual aid throughout the county.

Horn was the keynote speaker at Saturday’s event, which also included tours of the new facility. Other speakers included CALFIRE - San Diego County Fire Authority Chief Howard Windsor; Sunshine Summit Volunteer Fire Department Chief Dennis Parry; and Nick Poschl, President of the Sunshine Summit Volunteer Fire Station Board of Directors.


 What's all this?

Add to Google